## I MINA'BENTE NUEBE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (First) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No.  $5^{(1)}$ 

Introduced by:

J. V. Espaldon E. J. B. Calvo M. FORBES Ray J. T. Won Pat

Relative to observing the University of Guam's Charter Day Celebration and to commending the UOG president, faculty, staff, students and Board of Regents and the 2007 Charter Day Committee for their work in continuing the traditional celebration of this auspicious and historic event.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2007, the University of Guam ("the University"), a land grant institution, will observe its Charter Day, marking its founding; and

WHEREAS, the Territorial College of Guam, which was founded in 1952, offering limited classes at the old George Washington High School campus in Mongmong, developed from a two (2) year teacher training institution to a Land Grant University that offers a full range of undergraduate programs and graduate studies, relocated to its present one hundred (100) acre campus overlooking Pago Bay in Mangilao in 1961; and

WHEREAS, the Territorial College of Guam was renamed the "University of Guam" by the ninth (9th) Guam Legislature after being accredited for the maximum period by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges ("WASC") in 1968; and WHEREAS, the University of Guam's first Charter Day was proclaimed on December 17, 1968, by the Honorable Governor Manuel F.L. Guerrero through Executive Order 74-09; and

WHEREAS, the year 2007 marks the  $55^{\text{th}}$  year of the founding of the University of Guam and the 39<sup>th</sup> Charter Day celebration; and

WHEREAS, while the University pursues its mission of providing resident instruction and research to the people of Guam, it also provides our neighbors throughout Micronesia the opportunity to achieve higher education; and

WHEREAS, the University of Guam, in its quest to maintain its tradition of excellence, continues to contribute to the Island's social, cultural, political and economic advancement; and

WHEREAS, the theme for this year *"Awakening Identities: Culture, Creativity and Academe,"* reflects the vision and mission of the University of Guam to provide higher education and opportunities for the people of Guam, the islands of the Western Pacific, and the Asian Pacific Rim nations; and

WHEREAS, the 2007 Charter Day activities will showcase Guam's cultural, social, educational and recreational activities by inviting the People of Guam to visit the Mangilao campus during the week and share in these experiences; and

WHEREAS, Harold L. Allen, Ph.D., President of the University, appointed the 2007 Charter Day Committee to organize this year's activities, whose membership includes: Pedro R. Martinez, Chairman; Pacita "Patty" Aguon; Joanie Barcinas; Peter R. Barcinas; Chester Bataclan; Christopher F. Bejado; Joseph M.U. Blas; Michael Bumagat; June L.G. Calvo; Ric R. Castro; Dolores "Loling" Cepeda; Bernard Cruz; Daisy Cruz; Nancy U. Cueto; Swingly Dismas; Pamela Eastlick; Rosie Fejeran; Joseph Fernandez; Frances "Fran" A. Guerrero; Gerard "Gerry" Guerrero; Ann Leon Guerrero; Brenda C. Leon Guerrero; Cynthia Guerrero; Krystal Junsay; Christine M.K. Mabayag; Dr. Ronald L. McNinch-Su; Cathleen Moore-Linn; Leah-Beth Naholowaa; Joaquin "Kin" Ninete; Dave Okada; Peter R. Onedera; Julie J. Pangelinan; John B. Perez; Connie M.C. Quinata; Therese P. Roberto; Jesse B. Rosario; Diana R. Sablan; Yvette San Nicolas; Joey M. Santos; Andrew Stringer; Jesse A. Tedpahogo; Kristina Louise C. Torres; Louise Toves; Darlene Vigil; Suzanne de C. Wilkins; Monica Wintterle; and Velma Yamashita; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, the Executive Committee of *I Mina Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, join in the celebration of the Fifty-Fifth (55<sup>th</sup>) Anniversary of the University of Guam Charter Day celebration and does commend the UOG president, faculty, staff, students and Board of Regents and the 2007 Charter Day Committee for their work in continuing the traditional celebration of this auspicious and historic event and; be it further

**RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislative attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Michael Bumagat, President, UOG Student Government Association; to Dr. Harold L. Allen, President of the University; to Dr. Richard G. Tennessen, Chairman of the UOG Board of Regents; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga Lahen Guåhan*.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE \_\_\_\_ DAY OF \_\_\_\_\_ 2007.

MARK FORBES Speaker and Chairman, Executive Committee RAY TENORIO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature

小川市市